Surf Champions Crowned On Day 2 Of The Toyota Australian SUP Titles

COOLANGATTA/QLD (October 13th/2015) :Jackson Close and Shakira Westdorp are 2015 national champions after a drama filled final day in the surf division at the 2015 Toyota Australian SUP Titles on the Gold Coast. Close won his fourth Open Men’s SUP title with a 16.25 point heat total in the final to better form surfer Harry Maskell (14.50), Kai Bates (12.90) and Tim Cyprien (9.0) in cross shore 1-2ft waves after Bates was called for an interference on fellow finalist Maskell. Close said the younger competition in the final had pushed him all the way over the past two days. “These young guys are unreal and there is a bit of a changing of the guard happening at the moment so i am just stoked to have got another title.” In the Women’s Open final world number two Westdorp used all her bag of tricks to finish the winner with an 11.00 point heat total to take down fellow Queenslander Ke’Ale Dorries (7.60), Victorian Emma Webb (7.55) and Western Australia’s Monica De-Araujo (7.20). In the two other divisions,Rick Jakovich won a tight final to become the Over 40’s Men’s champion while Glenn Cochran became the number one Over 50’s SUP Surfer in the country. Action continues tomorrow on day three of the 2015 Toyota Australian SUP Titles when technical racing begins at Currumbin on the southern Gold Coast. Nearly 250 competitors will represent their states across three disciplines durfing this week’s titles: surfing; technical race between 4-8km of several laps in and out through the surf; and a 20-30km marathon. Valued Surfing Australia partner Toyota is again naming rights partner to the event, which has attracted nearly 250 of the country’s top SUP exponents. The 2015 Toyota Australian SUP Titles is proudly supported by Toyota, Gold Coast City Council, Connecting Southern Gold Coast, Currumbin RSL, Nikon, Surfing Australia, Surfing Queensland and AuSUP. For more information visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *